The other day I stepped three feet and heard an awful thud. I turned around to see that my son had just pushed himself off the couch. In less than a second I snatched him from the floor and enveloped him in my chest, shushed him, and told him, “I’m so sorry and I love you so much and if I could take his pain away I would. I love you, I love you, I love you.”  I started to cry as I tried to sooth his pain and fear.  I cried because he was upset and scared and probably a little sore. We cried for a bit then he fell asleep in my arms, helpless and precious.

As painful as the other day was, I feel like I have a picture now of how God feels when we hurt. When someone dies or is sick, when we are emotionally bruised or have fears about past events, God envelopes us in his arms squeezes us against his chest and tells us, “I love you so much! I want to take your pain away. I’m so sorry you hurt so bad.” And then he cries with us. And this in itself is absolutely amazing. The creator of the universe holds us close when we hurt. But what makes God, God, is that he does this even when we hurt ourselves. Even when we like Eli, we push away from safety, even when we push away from God, when we cry in our own self-inflicted pain God picks us up raps us in his arms and says, “I love you so much! I want to take your pain away. I’m so sorry you hurt so badly. I love you, I love you, I love you.”

So when you hurt- picture God enveloping his arms around you and saying, “I love you, I love you, I love you,” until you fall asleep in his arms, helpless and precious.

And a challenge, as imitators of Christ, how can we love on those in pain?

Because Christ first loved us. He loves us when we push off the couch and thud on the floor. He loves us.

 

– Sam

